Awards and Selected Achievements

Senior Research Fellowship, Western Sydney University, Australia, 2016-

International Scholar, Kyung Hee University, South Korea, 2016-2017

BK 21 Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Sungkyunkwan University, Seoul, 2010. 

Chancellor's Leadership Award, Syracuse University, 2009-2011.

Outstanding Alumni Achievement Award, Pacific University, May 2008.

Undergraduate Teaching Award, Department of English, Syracuse University, 1999-2000.

NEH Summer Fellow (Critical Theory Institute, Univ. of California, 1996)

Dean’s Summer Research Grant, College of Arts & Sciences, Syracuse University, 1997-99

Nominated to Harvard Society of Fellows, 1995 and 1999

Invited Fellow, International School of Theory in the Humanities at Santiago de Compostela, Spain, 1998

William P. Tolley Curriculum Development Grant, Syracuse University, 1997

Fellow, NEH Summer Seminar in Critical Theory, The Critical Theory Institute, University of

California, 1996

Dorothy and Donald Strauss Dissertation and Thesis Fellowship Award, 1995

University Regents Dissertation Fellowship, University of California, 1994

University Regents Fellowship, University of California, Irvine, 1991-1992

Fellow, Center for the Study of Hermeneutics, Graduate Theological Union, Berkeley,1990.

Grants and Principal Investigation

Principal Investigator (2008-current), The Central New York Humanities Corridor (Syracuse University-Cornell University-University of Rochester): consecutive awards by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Original one-million-dollar award, 2006; $60,000 NCE and bridging awards, 2009; one-million-dollar award for phase 2, 2011; triple matching endowment award (Syracuse University, Cornell University, University of Rochester) totaling 6.5 million dollars 2014-2017; $300,000 immediate expendible award, July 2014.  Total principal awards = =5.36 million dollars, including matching commitment of 2 million dollars by Syracuse University as of 2018.

Co-Investigator, Chancellor’s Leadership Award, Syracuse University. $150,000 dollar award for Transdiscplinary Media Program between 2010-2013. 

Principal Investigator, "Public Humanities Collaboratory," Imagining America. $5,000 dollar award.